the mind geek

obsessed with mental health

I am not immune

I’m usually pretty cocky when it comes to my recovery. I think of it as rock solid. Mental illness? I ain’t doing that again.

But then-

I had a brush, just a brush, with mental fragility.

Over the course of a week, a number of triggers came together at once and formed a potent cocktail. I felt things chipping away at me, at first subtly, then almost constantly.

This culminated in a moment where I could see the possibility of being unwell again. I could see the cliff. I don’t think I was actually on the brink of it, thank God, but I could see it. For the first time in a long time, I thought, maybe things could push me there, and maybe I would jump and fall. This moment was scarier than all of the triggers together. It put me face to face with my vulnerability.

I take this as a very important lesson.

I am recovered, but am not immune. 

I must not take my mental wellbeing for granted, or stop looking after it actively.

(things turned around the week after)

One comment on “I am not immune

  1. mindovermediablog
    March 26, 2016

    I think of mental illness like that of diabetes. There are patients who are very good at controlling their sugar levels up to a point they don’t need medications or u can control it very well with medications. But u don’t get cured from it. As a diabetic pt u always have to be aware that u r prone to high or low sugar level. Just like mental illness, its important to always keep our emotions stable to feel normal

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 6, 2016 by in On my mind and tagged , , , , .

Navigation

Autumn in Heidelberg. #nofilter #naturalbeauty Greatly enjoyed the grilled octopus and the deep fried cauliflower at the pub with middle eastern tapas fusion. Great place to go after wandering around the Frieze sculptures on display in Regents Park. The music playing in the pub was a bit annoying, that's my only complaint. The service was great. #pub #London#tapas #flatbread #friezesculpturepark #octopus #foodie My idea of a Sunday lunch - delicious poke bowls at the Ned followed by grilled pineapple and mochi icecream. The atmosphere was fantastic, very Hollywood movie with live jazz music! And of course great company with @keykoi #ahipoke #pokebowl #salmon #avocado #foodie #london #sundaylunch
Follow the mind geek on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

